18
Jan
09

Copperas Cove addendum.

Now that my head’s been cleared by some needed sleep, here are some more notes…

  • I ordered a couple of boxes of nutrition supplies from 1st Endurance, and they literally arrived about 30 minutes before I was due to leave for Copperas Cove. I had just enough time to rip open one box, which contained the gel bottles. I grabbed two, thinking that I had a tub of EFS drink with me in the car. I was wrong. Again – I shorted myself several hundred calories in the process.
  • Back in 2003, 2004 and 2005, when riding with some friends in the off-season, I would get up around 5am and go over to Denny’s and eat what was possibly the worst imaginable meals… Grand Slams or Omelettes. But, when you downed that many calories with some water, a little coffee, some OJ and some toast, you were oftentimes good to go for over 80 miles. Remember my meal yesterday? 1 bowl of cereal with 2% milk, 1 bagel, and 1 Philly Cream Cheese which I ate like astronaut food. It wasn’t enough.
  • I DEFINITELY need to get more long rides in. The question is – when? There’s a reason why cyclists either don’t have kids or end up with shorter careers… Don’t get me started on the tale of my OCD buddy, Joe, who rode and rode and rode, ignoring his wife’s pleas for a discussion about things, and one day, went out for his usual 5-hour ride, and came home to an empty house. True story. I don’t want that to be me. It’s bad enough when I’m gone at 5am, and then work from 4 to 8pm and come home exhausted….
0 Responses to “Copperas Cove addendum.”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,352 other followers

Whareagle

Twitter Posts

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.


