16
Dec
07

Sunday Beta Test ride with iBike and Quarq

Well, I finally got the Quarq’s data to read consistently on the iBike by replacing the stem mount with a production model. The unit that was on there was a prototype from before InterBike, and while I was proud to have it on there, I think it was definitely holding me back. So now we have quarq data coming from the crank, along with iBike CdA data coming from the air pressure sensor. But there’s still a few wrinkles to be ironed out.

First, the iBike Aero I’m using is missing some components, so it’s making the altimeter readings kind of hinky. That’s screwing up the accelerometer somewhat as well. And the data we’re getting out of it is off from the Ptap by a couple of percentage points. Second, Jim at Quarq has given me a Garmin 705 to use, and while it’s awesome to be able to read wattage on the 705 from the iBike, the firmware stuff hasn’t been merged as of yet, so I’m still going to have to run two separate units. Something I still don’t want to do.

However, I did get Owen to remove the Ergomo and the SRM from the Soloist, and I replaced them with a Ptap 2.4 hub surrounded by a Bontrager Aeolus 6.5 wheelset. Combine that with some Vittoria tires and latex tubes and I’m convinced that they’ll be worth about 1.2mph. Pure speculation, but they just, feel, fast.

And I will have to apologize to David at Nimble. We were supposed to get together on Saturday, but you know, life just gets in the way sometimes.

Thanks also to Robyn, who came over to shoot some photos and help me with some website things. I know, I know. I need to get back on the path and finish that website up, but she mentioned this movie, “Be Kind, Rewind”, and Amy and I decided on a whim to go see it. And you know what? It was a great way to spend a few hours.

Not much else to report. I’m weak, I haven’t raced, we’re both still coughing some, but I did get a full meal in from Chuy’s and walked the dog up there to get it, so it was a pretty good day overall. And I have to hit the sack, because Todd and I are getting together for an indoor ride tomorrow morning and I need to be awake for that.

Curse this Spring Forward stuff!

0 Responses to “Sunday Beta Test ride with iBike and Quarq”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,352 other followers

Whareagle

Twitter Posts


